Chinese Symbolism & Art Motifs

By C.A.S. Williams

The Eight Immortals, the five elements, the dragon, and the phoenix, are important cultural symbols that have been represented in Chinese literature, art, and architechture throughout the ages. Without understanding of their significance of these symbols and motifs, much of Chinese history, folklore, and culture cannot be fully appreciated. This comprehensive handbook on symbolism in Chinese art bridges the gap between the symbols and the viewer. This book is a standard reference volume for students of China and Chinese culture.

SKU #3317
448 pages
Published by Tuttle Publishing, Fourth Revised Edition in 2006

Pin It